The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Pages: 384

Source: Rakuten Kobo (E-Book)

Buy: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo Canada | Book Depository

Rating: 4/5

Rating: 4 out of 5.

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why–or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch–and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he’s determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather’s last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.”Goodreads

What I liked:

  • The Inheritance Games got me hooked from the start with its interesting concept. A plot where a girl inherits a deceased stranger’s fortune. She has no connection to this person or their family. Immediately, I had so many questions when I opened this book. Why did she inherit all this money? Why did this person cut out his family and his heirs (the four grandsons)? Also, as the plot thickens, there are even more mysteries to solve with the subplots. This novel was optioned to be a television series. I can see this being the next Riverdale. It has intriguing characters, a love triangle, a murder mystery and so on.
  • The story was fast in pace, and I read this book in a few days. The characters were well-developed, and all their different personalities stood out in the novel. Each Hawthorne boy was unique, had their own motives and storylines. Minor characters, like Libby (Avery’s sister), were also integral to the storyline. I liked how clearly the author showed each character’s motives and storyline (including the side characters). My favourite Hawthorne boys were Grayson and Jameson. I have a feeling that future books will involve a love triangle between these two and Avery. I like both of them, but I prefer Grayson with Avery over Jameson. While I enjoyed scenes with Jameson, I was more curious about Grayson’s person. Also, I related a lot to Avery’s character.
  • I enjoyed the twists and turns throughout The Inheritance Games. I was pleasantly surprised by the plot twists and the cliffhanger at the end. This was one of those rare stories where my theories and predictions were wrong. I also liked how this entire novel was a mystery and that it involved a game of wit. The Hawthorne house itself sounded like such a neat place to explore with all its secret passages.

What I did not enjoy:

  • I thought there could have been more description of the Hawthorne House. While I felt the author brought this world to life, I also felt that it could have been more fleshed out. I wanted a bit more description of the settings the characters were in throughout the story.
  • I felt that the romance between Jameson and Avery was developed a bit too fast in this book!

Overall:

The Inheritance Games was a quick hit for me. This book gripped my attention with its mysteries. This book’s twist and turns took me by surprise. The characters were well-developed and relatable for me. I prefer an Avery and Grayson relationship to a Jameson and Avery relationship. I felt the attraction developed too quickly between Avery and Jameson. Lastly, I wish there was a bit more description of the setting. Overall, I loved The Inheritance Games, and I’m excited about the sequel.

3 thoughts on “The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s