Daughter of Sparta by Claire M. Andrews

Author: Claire M. Andrews

Publisher: Hachette Book Group Canada / Jimmy Patterson

Pages: 375

Source: Hachette Book Group Canada (Physical Copy)

Released: June 8th, 2021

Buy: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo Canada | Book Depository

Rating: 4/5

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Sparta forged her into a deadly weapon. Now the Gods need her to save the world!

Seventeen-year-old Daphne has spent her entire life honing her body and mind into that of a warrior, hoping to be accepted by the unyielding people of ancient Sparta. But an unexpected encounter with the goddess Artemis—who holds Daphne’s brother’s fate in her hands—upends the life she’s worked so hard to build. Nine mysterious items have been stolen from Mount Olympus and if Daphne cannot find them, the gods’ waning powers will fade away, the mortal world will descend into chaos, and her brother’s life will be forfeit.

Guided by Artemis’s twin-the handsome and entirely-too-self-assured god Apollo-Daphne’s journey will take her from the labyrinth of the Minotaur to the riddle-spinning Sphinx of Thebes, team her up with mythological legends such as Theseus and Hippolyta of the Amazons, and pit her against the gods themselves.

A reinterpretation of the classic Greek myth of Daphne and Apollo, Daughter of Sparta by debut author Claire Andrews turns the traditionally male-dominated mythology we know into a heart-pounding and empowering female-led adventure. –Goodreads

Thank you so much, Hachette Book Group Canada for, providing me with a physical copy of Daughter of Sparta. Thank you for giving me the chance to read and review this book.

Where do I begin?

Daughter of Sparta is a fast pace, adventurous and action-filled story. From the very first chapter, I was sucked into Daphne’s journey. I found myself on the edge of my seat throughout the entire novel. I could not put this book down because I had to know what happened next for these characters. There wasn’t a slow moment in this novel.

As a reader, I found Daphne’s adventure came alive with this book’s inclusion of a Greek Glossary and a beautiful book map. It was fun to chart Daphne and her crew’s journey across her world with the map. The inclusion of Greek words brought the setting and its characters to life.

Apollo’s and Daphne’s back and forth banter was one of the highlights of Daughter of Sparta. I thought Daphne’s character development was well fleshed out throughout the three hundred-plus pages. I could easily chart out where she began, as a character, at the beginning of the story and how she had grown throughout her adventure. Furthermore, I loved that Daphne’s character is a female warrior.

My favourite character throughout the novel was Apollo. I also enjoyed the cast of side characters. I did feel like the side characters, personality-wise, could have been fleshed out a bit more in the book.

Daughter of Sparta is a plot-driven novel. There is so much that happens in 300+ pages. This book is perfect for fans of Greek Mythology. I won’t lie, some Gods and their Greek Mythology went over my head. There were a few references to previous Greek myths (Ex: Gods hating each other) that I was unfamiliar with their story origins. It would have been nice if Daughter of Sparta had also included a Greek God/Goddess glossary.

This story reads as a standalone. However, it leaves enough questions that I’m curious about book two in the series. I’m looking forward to seeing how the romance develops in book two. Since this book was so plot-driven, I felt the romance did not stand out too much in Daughter of Sparta. Furthermore, I’m also curious to see if Daphne’s brothers get more page time in the sequel.

Overall, I loved Daughter of Sparta as it was a fast pace story with a strong female protagonist. I could not put this exciting story down, as I was always excited to find out what happens next in this book. The world-building and MC’s character development were on point. I also enjoyed the bantered between the characters. Daughter of Sparta is perfect for fans of Greek Mythology, strong protagonists, and adventure and action-filled books.

2 thoughts on “Daughter of Sparta by Claire M. Andrews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s