Illusionary (Hollow Crown #2) by Zoraida Córdova

Author: Zoraida Córdova

Publisher: Hachette Book Group Canada

Pages: 345

Source: Hachette Book Group Canada (Physical Copy)

Released: May, 11, 2021

Buy: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo Canada | Book Depository

Rating: 4/5

Rating: 4 out of 5.

In Zoraida Córdova’s thrilling sequel to Incendiary, Renata embarks on a dangerous journey to bring justice to the kingdom — perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Sarah J. Maas.

Reeling from betrayal at the hands of the Whispers, Renata Convida is a girl on the run. With few options and fewer allies, she’s reluctantly joined forces with none other than Prince Castian, her most infuriating and intriguing enemy. They’re united by lofty goals: find the fabled Knife of Memory, kill the ruthless King Fernando, and bring peace to the nation. Together, Ren and Castian have a chance to save everything, if only they can set aside their complex and intense feelings for each other.

With  the king’s forces on their heels at every turn, their quest across Puerto Leones and beyond leaves little room for mistakes. But the greatest danger is within Ren. The Gray, her fortress of stolen memories, has begun to crumble, threatening her grip on reality. She’ll have to control her magics–and her mind–to unlock her power and protect the Moria people once and for all. For years, she was wielded as weapon. Now it’s her time to fight back. –Goodreads

Continue reading “Illusionary (Hollow Crown #2) by Zoraida Córdova”

Go the Distance: A Twisted Tale by Jen Calonita

Author: Jen Calonita

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Pages: 336

Source: E-ARC / NetGalley

Released: April 6, 2021

Buy: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indigo Canada | Book Depository

Rate: 4/5

Rating: 4 out of 5.

What if Meg had to become a god?

After Hercules proves he’s a true hero and regains his godship, all seems right in the world. That is, until Zeus tells Meg that she can’t be with Hercules because she’s, well, mortal. Luckily, Hera has a solution, offering Meg a chance to prove herself worthy of a spot on Mt. Olympus–as a god. All Meg has to do is complete a mysterious quest.

The mission? Oh, just to rescue her ex’s current wife from the Underworld. The ex-boyfriend she saved by selling her soul to Hades. The ex-boyfriend who immediately moved on to someone else while she was stuck in the Underworld. Can Meg put her past behind her and use her quick-wit to defeat monsters and gods alike, including the nefarious Hades? Will she finally figure out her place and contribution to the world? Or will her fear of commitment have her running away from an eternity of godhood with Herc?

Written by the author of Mirror, Mirror and Conceal, Don’t Feel, Jen Calonita’s latest twist is sure to delight and surprise. 

Goodreads

Continue reading “Go the Distance: A Twisted Tale by Jen Calonita”